Six Enter Legends Hall

Master of Ceremony Bob Lipman

Master of Ceremony Bob Lipman and the New Hampshire Legends of Hockey Board of Directors inducted six new members into the New Hampshire Hockey Hall of Fame class of 2019, in front of a crowd of 270 family members, friends, dignitaries and guests.

The Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony & Luncheon was held on October 20, 2019 at the Grappone Conference Center in Concord.

It marked the NH Legends’ eighteenth year hosting the event and the Legends also paid tribute to Alpine Club who played in the early to mid 60’s in the Granite State Hockey League.

About The Legends of New Hampshire Hockey

The Legends is a New Hampshire non-profit, 501(C)(3) organization dedicated to preserving New Hampshire ice hockey history, maintaining the state’s Hockey Hall of Fame, and promoting the sport to New Hampshire’s youth. Our Hall of Fame Induction event honors New Hampshire’s hockey elite — men and women who have made significant contributions in New Hampshire as players, coaches, officials, builders, or media representatives.

Inducted into the 2019 Hall of Fame Class was: Denis Martin, Freddy Meyer and Deron Quint are being inducted as players; longtime New England College bench boss Tom Carroll is being inducted as a coach; Rod Ross is being inducted in the media category; and the late Downing Potter “DP” Brown is being inducted posthumously as a builder. To view the entire induction program click here.

Class of 2019 – L to R: Tom Carroll, Tim Quint (for Deron Quint) Freddy Meyer,
Timothy Brown (for Downing Potter Brown), Denis “Ducky” Martin and Rod Ross
Coach Tom Carroll
Legends Vice-President Mike Gould

Mike Gould, (shown Above) Vice-President of the Legends’ Board of Directors, welcomed the large audience and thanked them for supporting the 2019 Hall of Fame inductees and the Alpine Club. Gould offered special thanks to Bauer (Presenting Sponsor) St. Paul’s School (Kathy Gile, Rector) as the Luncheon Sponsor; Vachon Clukay & Company PC (Bob and Kathy Vachon) & NH Amateur Hockey Association (Matt Roy) as the Co-Title Sponsors, New Hampshire Distributors (Tom and Chris Brown) as the Social Hour Sponsor and Werner Mazda as the Ring Sponsor.

Gould also thanked the 26 other sponsors who helped make the Hall of Fame ceremony possible through their Gold, Silver, and Bronze-level sponsorships. Those sponsors are:
Gold Sponsors: Banks Chevrolet-Cadillac, Inc; Black Ice Pond Hockey Association; Capital Sporting Goods; Christian Party Rental; Fay’s Boat Yard; Morgan Self Storage; Northway Bank and Speedy Printing & Copying.

Silver Sponsors: Berlin City Auto Group; Capital City Paving; Cusa Consulting, LLC; Club National; De Niro Construction; Milestone Engineering & Construction; PretiFlaherty; Ray’s Electric, Inc. Rene LeClerc Insurance Agency and Triplet Computers.

Bronze Sponsors: EVR Advertising; Granite State Capital Management; Granite State Glass; Label Tech, Inc.; L.A. Brochu, Inc. and Town and Inn and Resort.

Key Note Speaker Ben Smith
All Hall of Fame Members – Front Row L to R: Julie Sasner Smith, Tom Carroll, Tim Quint (for Deron Quint) Freddy Meyer, Timothy Brown (for Downing Potter Brown) Denis “Ducky” Martin, Rod Ross and Pierre Belanger Back row L to R: Dick Boucher; Jack LeClerc, Dick Roy, Bill Matthews, Jim Griffin, Bruce Parker, Roger Letourneau, Leo Gould, Ken McKinnon, Rene LeClerc, Don McKinnon, Jim Tufts and Dunc Walsh. Missing from Photo: Ray Champagne, Rich Ryerson, Bob Norton, Andre Prefontaine, Hubie McDonough III.

State Senator Lou D’Allesandro, longtime Legends supporter and a former Legends Board member, delivered a letter from The Honorable Governor Chris Sununu, State Senate Resolutions and State of New Hampshire Citations honoring the Hall of Fame Class of 2019 and the Alpine Club.  More than 40 club members, alumni and family of the Alpine Club were in attendance.

Senator Lou D’Allesandro

More than 40 club members, alumni and family of the Alpine Club were in attendance.

Members of Alpine Club and its Hockey Team L to R: Dick Daigle, Dick Boucher, Roland Jutras, Connie Gagne, Mark Doucet, Jacques Lorandeau, Norm Gamache, Roland Martin,
Ken McKinnon (Commissioner of the Granite State Hockey League) and Leo Gould

Photographs of Induction Ceremony were taken by Matt Parker Photography and are posted on his website. Click here to view and or purchase photographs. If you have any questions you may contact Matt at

Vice-President Mike Gould announced the team which will be honored next fall. The Exeter High School Blue Hawks Boy’s and Girl’s hockey teams will be honored at the 19th Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony scheduled for Sunday October 25, 2020.

Exeter High School (Coaches, Players and Alumni) Front Row L to R: Jacob Martin, Jude Rogles, Richard Davis, Brendan Doyle, Mark Thurston Back Row L to R: Henrik Barbin, Head Coach Coach Paul DiMarino 2019-20, Matt Tufts and Head Coach Jim Tufts 1977-2019

So again please mark your calendar for the 19th Annual Induction Ceremony slated for next October 25th at the Grappone Conference Center in Concord. If you’d like to become a sponsor, please email or call Jim Hayes at 603-731-4168.  Click here to review the 2019 Sponsorship Opportunity Form if you are interesting sponsoring next fall.

2020 Nomination with appropriate documentation can be submitted on-line beginning January 1 and continuing through the end of February.

Video of Induction Ceremony can be purchased by contacting Mark Johnson at This year the video is available on a memory stick and has both the Induction Ceremony as well as pre-event interviews may be purchased for $15.00 through JoyMark Photography and Video Production in Concord (

No Replies to "Six Enter Legends Hall"

    Got something to say?