Five Enter Legends Hall of Fame

Master of Ceremony Ken Cail and the New Hampshire Legends of Hockey Board of Directors inducted five new members into the New Hampshire Hockey Hall of Fame class of 2021, in front of a crowd of 300 family members, friends, dignitaries and guests.

Ken CailMaster of Ceremony

The Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony & Luncheon was held on October 24, 2021 at the Grappone Conference Center in Concord.

It marked the NH Legends’ eighteenth year hosting the event and the Legends also paid tribute to the history of the boy’s and girl’s hockey programs at Exeter High School. 

About The Legends of New Hampshire Hockey

The Legends is a New Hampshire non-profit, 501(C)(3) organization dedicated to preserving New Hampshire ice hockey history, maintaining the state’s Hockey Hall of Fame, and promoting the sport to New Hampshire’s youth. Our Hall of Fame Induction event honors New Hampshire’s hockey elite — men and women who have made significant contributions in New Hampshire as players, coaches, officials, builders, or media representatives.

2021 Inductees – Bruce Valley, Lauren Slebodnick, Ben Lovejoy, Brian Murphy and Paul J. Chalue

Inducted into the 2021 Hall of Fame Class was: To view the entire induction program click here.

Prior to Father C. Peter Dumont giving the invocation, he sent healing thoughts and prayers to Hall of Famer Rod Blackburn.  In addition, he remembered our Hall of Fame teammates we’ve lost since our last induction, including: Red Gendron, Seaver Peters, Dick Bradley and this past Thursday, Richard Ryerson.

In addition to other hockey friends who have passed, including former board member Father Robert Marchand, as well as Ryan Frew and JM Sahr. We miss you all.

Father C. Peter Dumont

During President Normand’s address he welcomed and thanked the three-hundred in attendance for supporting the 2021 Hall of Fame inductees and the Exeter Boy’s and Girl’s hockey history.

Players, alumni, coaches, staff and booster of Exeter High School hockey teams
Front Row: L-R Exeter Girls Co-Captains Caitlyn Knowles and Emma Sughrue, Coach Kaela Mitchell, Coach Elicia Zecchini.
Middle Row L-R: Tom Maher, Girls Head Coach Geoff Taylor, Coach John Lesage, Ben Lovejoy, Kevin Belanger, Don Evans, Jim Proulx.
Third Row L-R: Athletic Director Bill Ball, Boy’s Captain Keegan Knight, Paul DiMarino, Captain Henry Fraser, Peter Maher and Assistant Boy’s Coach Rich Kane.

Normand offered special thanks to Bauer and Julie King as our (Presenting Sponsor); St. Paul’s School (Rector Kathy Giles, (Luncheon Sponsor); NH Amateur Hockey Association and President Matt Roy & Werner Mazda and Bob Werner as our (Co-Title Sponsors), New Hampshire Distributors and Tom and Chris Brown as the (Social Hour Sponsor) and nucar Automotive Group and Shawn Hanlon as (Ring Sponsor).

John Normand – President

John also thanked the 32 other sponsors who also helped make the Hall of Fame ceremony possible through their Gold, Silver, and Bronze-level sponsorships. Those sponsors are:

Gold Sponsors:
Banks Chevrolet-Cadillac, Inc.; Black Ice Pond Hockey Association; Brine – Capital Sporting Goods; Christian Party Rental; Club National; Fay’s Boat Yard; Merrimack County Savings Bank; NEEBCo; Northway Bank; Paul The Plumber, LLC; Pitco Frialator, LLC; The Rowley Agency and Speedy Printing & Copying.

Silver Sponsors:
Cusa Consulting, LLC; De Niro Construction; Deco Systems Inc.; L. A. Brochu Inc.; Milestone Engineering & Construction; PretiFlaherty; Proulx Oil & Propane; Ray’s Electric, Inc. Rene LeClerc Insurance Agency Inc.; Triplet Computers, LLC and The Weston Family.

Bronze Sponsors:
Alpine Club; Berlin City Auto Group; EVR Advertising; Granite State Capital Management; Granite State Glass; Label Tech, Inc. and Town & Country Inn and Resort.

All Hall of Famers
Front Row L to R: Dick Dodds, Lauren Slebodnick, Ben Lovejoy, a member of the George Thurston family and Peter Maher.
Back Row L to R: Bruce Valley, Bill Matthews, John Dodds, Ken Cail, Denis Martin, Dick Boucher; Dick Roy, Frank Roy, John Normand, Bob Gaudet, Paul Chalue, Merrill Fay, Gary Bishop, Rene LeClerc, Ken McKinnon, Bruce Parker and Brian Murphy. Missing from photo: Dana Barbin, Pierre Belanger, Willie Bibeau, Ray Champagne, Mark Evans, Steve Murphy and Andre Prefontaine.

Joe MarshKey Note Speaker

Photographs of Induction Ceremony and Stanley Cup® were taken by Matt Parker Photography and are posted on his website.

Click here to view and/or purchase photographs of the Induction Ceremony. Photographs purchased will be sent directly to your address.

The Induction Ceremony photos:

Stanley Cup photos:

Click here to view and download free Stanley Cup photographs.  Instructions are located in the gallery. Password is stanleycup (just as written). If would would like to purchase prints directly from Matt, there is a fee, photographs will be shipped directly to your address.

Free Download instructions are located in the gallery.

President John Normand announced the team which will be honored next fall. The Kimball Union Academy Boy’s and Girl’s hockey history will be honored at the 20th Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony scheduled for Sunday October 23, 2022.

Kimball Union representatives L to R: Woodie Haskins ’69, Bob Blood ’74, Bob Blood ’74, Ben Lovejoy, Girl’s Coach Sam Ftorek, Jackson Blood Pride, Boy’s Coach Tim Whitehead, Boy’s Assistant Coach Bryant Harris ‘04

So again, please mark your calendar for the 19th Annual Induction Ceremony slated for next October 23rd at the Grappone Conference Center in Concord. If you’d like to become a sponsor, please email or call Jim Hayes at 603-731-4168.  Click here to review the 2021 Sponsorship Opportunity Form if you are interesting sponsoring next fall.

2022 Nominations with appropriate documentation can be submitted on-line beginning January 1 and continuing through the end of February.

Video of Induction Ceremony can be purchased before the end of the year, by contacting Bryant Ragus (Spotlight Video Productions) at The video will be available on a memory stick and has both the Induction Ceremony as well as pre-event interviews may be purchased for $15.00 through Spotlight Video Productions in Manchester, NH.  (

No Replies to "Five Enter Legends Hall of Fame"

    Got something to say?