George Edward Crowe

George has 39 years experience in hockey coaching and camp administration at the prep school and college levels for both men and women’s hockey programs.

George was Head Coach at Albany Academy for Boys (1960-64), Oswego State University (1964-69), Phillips Exeter Academy (1969-75), Dartmouth College (Men’s 1975-84), Dartmouth College (Women’s 1986-98).

Some of his accomplishments at Dartmouth as head coach of the men’s program are competed in three ECAC playoffs, won two Ivy League titles and advanced to the NCAA Division 1 Frozen Four in two consecutive years. In the women’s hockey program won four Ivy League titles and competed in six ECAC playoffs.

George has won numerous awards for his contributions to ice hockey, a selected few are: (1976) New England Division 1 “Coach of the Year”, (1980) National Collegiate Hockey Coach of the Year by Hockey News, (1989) Hockey Hall of Fame Oswego State University, (1996 & 1998) ECAC “Coach of the Year”, (1998) New England Hockey Writers Coach of the Year.

George was: (2001) Inducted into the “Wearers of the Green” for Dartmouth alumni/coaches who have excelled in Ivy League Athletics, (2001) Shaeffer Penn Award for outstanding contributions to New England Collegiate hockey and in (2004) Joe Burke Award for outstanding contributions to girl’s and women’s hockey given by the American Hockey Coaches Association