2022 Golf Classic Recap

Well, last Friday the board of directors held their sixteenth NH Legends of Hockey Golf Classic on July 15 at Stonebridge Country Club in Goffstown.

The event was kicked off with a message from John Normand, President of the New Hampshire Legends of Hockey (Legends). John asked to have a moment of silence and join us in remembering our Hall of Fame member(s) who have passed since our 2021 Golf Classic. Rod Blackburn, Don McKinnon, Dick Ryerson and Harvey Smith, as well as two spouses of our Hall of Fame Members……Joy Gould and Trillium Evans.

One hundred and twenty-eight players enjoyed an absolutely beautiful day, and the course was once again top notch led by General Manger Jason Jozokos and his entire team at Stonebridge.

We received thirty-two generous sponsorships lead by Title Sponsor Rink Services Group, and Gold Sponsors St. Paul’s School, Eastern Propane and Oil, nucar Automotive Group and The Rinks at Exeter. In addition, ninety-three individuals and businesses donated wonderful certificates for our raffle and auction, all of which made our Golf Classic an overwhelming success.

Five-hundred ninety-two photographs taken by Matt Parker Photography can be viewed at no charge and any can be purchased for a nominal fee. Please visit his site by clicking here. You may enter your name in search bar to view photos. There is a small sample of photos at the bottom of this article.

Jim Hayes (Executive Director) and John Normand (President)

Click here to view our thirty-two sponsors. To view the businesses and or individual’s who donated gifts in kind to our golf classic click here.

John acknowledged one individual from the Class of 2022 who will be inducted on October 23 at Concord’s Grappone Center at the Twentieth Legends of Hockey Induction Ceremony. With us today is Chris Brown who is being inducted as a builder, while David Flint, David Lassonde and Tom Moulton are being inducted as coaches, as is Ryan Frew, who is being inducted posthumously.

In addition, the Kimball Union Academy boy’s and girl’s hockey history will also be honored this year. The boys program began in 1935-36 while the girls team began in 2009-10. Click here to read a press release for the five incoming Hall of Famers.

Kimball Union – Bob Blood, Rich Ryerson, Tim Whitehead and Andy Kaplan.

In addition, the Kimball Union Academy boy’s and girl’s hockey history will also be honored this year. The boys program began in 1935-36 while the girls team began in 2009-10.

Our volunteers worked very hard all-day long keeping the registration, raffle and on course contests running smoothly. Many thanks again: to Cory Philbrick, Cory Philbrick Matthew Murray and Nick Lewis of Vachon Clukay & Company PC of Manchester as well as Nancy Swenson; Joanie Vallieres; Lynda Heath and Lane Mabbett in addition to board members Mike Gould, Eric Swenson, Ray Bernard and Dan Zapton.

Tournament volunteers Matthew Murray, Lynda Heath, Nancy Swenson, Nick Lewis and Cory Philbrick

The following board members got a chance to play, but also volunteered many hours to help make this event a great success: Peter Bedford; Dave Corriveau; Jim Hayes; Roland Martin; John Normand; Dwayne Robinson.

In addition, on the “Scott “Ace” Citroni Hole”, Hole 4, board member Eric Swenson led volunteers which included Back Bay Youth Hockey Association representatives Scott McLain & Crystal McLain and their daughter Chloe McLain. On Hole 6 board members Ray Bernard and Dan Zapton also raised funds towards equipment purchases for Back Bay.

Back Bay Youth Hockey representatives L to R: Crystal McLain, (with Legends B of D) Eric Swenson, Chloe McLain and Scott McLain

2022 Champions

Champions Don Steenbeke Jr., Mark Placy, Ryan Sahr and Lee Blossom

Congratulations to our Champions, Lee Blossom, Ryan Sahr, Mark Placy, Don Steenbeke Jr. took home the title this year with a 17 under 55.  Second place was awarded to Ken Colllins, Scott Richards and Ed Staph with a 58 and third place went to Mark Evans, Allen Mason, Paul Smolak and Ricky Shelton with a 59. All terrific scores!

On Course Contests
Longest Drive All # 1 – Don Steenbeke Jr.
Closest to the Line #2 – Dennis Sahr
Closest to the Pin # 4 – Charlie Geary 5’1”
Closest to the Pin # 6 – Scott “Ace” Citroni 12’ 5”
Closest to the Pin # 13 – Andrew McDonald 10’11”
Closest to the Pin # 16 – Don Steenbeke Jr 3’ 0”
Closest to the Pin #18 Second Shot – Ron Moulton 2’ 3”
* Putting Contest Champion – Bob Blood – was crowned Champion and took home $100 cash and a Ray Cook putter (donated by Brett Houston of NEEBCO).

John Filyaw, Dan Borden and Dick Turelli enjoying refreshments at the 19th Hole while team mate Dwayne Robinson was getting another round.

All Champions
2022 – Lee Blossom, Ryan Sahr, Mark Placy, Don Steenbeke Jr.
2021 – Mark Bozek, George Chase, Bob Oziomek, Tim Pratt
2019 – Lee Blossom, Ryan Sahr, Mark Placy, Don Steenbeke Jr.
2018 – Mike Desmond, Mike Bayer, Jason Bergeron, Scott O’Neil
2017 – Lee Blossom, Ryan Sahr, JM Sahr, Scott Towle
2016 – Lee Blossom, Mark Placy, Ryan Sahr, JM Sahr
2015 – Rene LeClerc, Pete Ackerson, Steve Grzywacz, Dave Kuhman
2014 – Todd Philbrick, Tom Otto, Jim Corbett, Jerry Collins
2013 – Dick Dodds, John Dodds, Scott Peters, Dean Cashman
2012 – Chris Chisholm, Jim Hayes, Ray Martin, Pat McNicholas
2011 – Casey Kesselring, Jeff Graham, Mike Beliveau, Trevor Smith
2010 – Chris Chisholm, Jim Hayes, Ray Martin, Pat McNicholas
2009 – Mike Castagna, Paul Lemire, Doug Leppart, Doug Snyder
2008 – Chris Chisholm, Jim Hayes, Ray Martin, TJ Whitelaw
2007 – Mike Castagna, Mike Ladouceur, Johnna Lory, Rich Tombs
2006 – Ken Roberge, Mike McGinn, Glen Williams, Dwayne Robinson

2023 Golf Classic
Mark your calendar now for next year’s Golf Classic scheduled for Friday July 14, 2023.

To view the tournament program click here.

Photo gallery

Click here to view all photos.

No Replies to "2022 Golf Classic Recap"

    Got something to say?